GUNFLEET Sailing Club members were out in force to celebrate the season at their annual laying-up dinner and prizegiving.

It took place at the Kingscliff Hotel, in Holland-on-Sea.

Club commodore Richard Walker explained it had been a special year for him as he had completed 25 years in the role and looked back at how things had changed over the 50-plus years he had been a member.

Moving up to date and focusing specifically on 2019, once again there had been some key highlights such as the Gunfleet Regatta, sponsored by Discount Windows and Conservatories of Clacton, and the ever-popular Cadet Week, sponsored by Orsted Energy.

It was only due to the enthusiasm and support of the members that events such as these could be run.

The club’s rear commodore, Helen Swinbourne, then presented the following trophies, awarded for winning Gunfleet’s races, merit and services to the club:

March Hare - Ken Potts; Spring Series - Ken Potts; Toppo Single Helm - John Tappenden; Cadet Single Helm - Michael Gutteridge; Wallet Trophy - Andy Cornforth; Gunfleet Chase - Andy Dunnett; Jubilee Trophy - Yvonne Gough; RNLI Charity Trophy - Peter Downer; Tee Dee Challenge Trophy - Ken Potts; Potterer’s Pot - Rob Lockett; Ken Potts’ Pot - John Tappenden; Bill Clarke Shield - Paul Stanton; Hertford County Shield - Ken Potts; Topper Splash Trophy - Harrison Smith; Topaz Splash Trophy - Owen Hooper and Fran Cottee; London Trophy - Ken Potts; Double Dan - Paul Stanton; Jim Suckling Shield - Ken Potts; Summer Series - Ken Potts; Cat and Mouse Trophy - Harrison Smith; Tony Chadd Trophy - Ken Potts; Class Points: Laser - Ken Potts; 405 - Ed Philpot and Henry Spooner; Comet - Peter Downer; Topaz - Owen Hooper and Fran Cottee; Topper - Harrison Smith; Bill Geddes Trophy - John Tappenden; Double “G” Trophy - Harrison Smith; Bob Agate Trophy - Jude Aylen; SOS Trophy - Ed Philpot and Henry Spooner; Spirit of the Wind - Michael Gutteridge; Autumn Series - Andy Dunnett; Winter Series - Ken Potts; Tarrant Trophy - Eddie White; Senior Leading Helm - Ken Potts; Junior Leading Helm - Michael Gutteridge; Terry Baker “Cheers” Trophy - Clare Giles; Stan Camp Progress Cup - George Smith; Junior Merit Trophy - Harrison Smith; Cissbury Merit Trophy - Alfie Searles; Stein Ladies’ Merit Trophy - Shelley Smith; Gentlemen’s Merit Trophy - Malcolm Jolly.