Champagne corks were popping at Vista Road as Clacton's triumphant cricketers celebrated their crowning as the PDQ Cars League champions.

The Seasiders lifted their first PDQ title since scooping the division four honours back in 2003, after thumping premier division rivals Elmstead Grasshoppers by a massive 204 runs.

Poor Elmstead were up against it right from the start against glory-seeking Clacton.

Not for the first time this season former Sri Lankan international star Indika De Saram proved to be Clacton's hero.

The prolific-scoring right-hander hit 158 in his team's total of 349 for eight, with Scott Facey and Imran Sheikh both weighing in with good 40s.

Clacton's bowlers then set to work and shared the wickets as Elmstead were skittled out for just 145 to signal the start of the home team's big part.

Triumphant skipper David Coyle told the Gazette: "It was a great, comprehensive victory and we were delighted to finally sew-up the championship, after weeks of being in pole position.

"It's a real achievement for our club, especially given the quality of some of the other teams in the division.

"A lot of them have Saturday sides and play most of their best players on a Sunday, too.

"We don't really do it that way.

"There are a handful who play both days but the bulk of our team is made up of other lads.

"That bodes well for the future of Clacton Cricket Club."